SG SOUNDS
Owner of the JTR OS subs and was very curious how they would stack up to your double 18 inch subs. The OS are horn loaded subs. I’ve been eyeing the Bassboss double 18 boxes and the many great review's all over the net. JTR has recently released their own active double 18” sub, the Captivator 218Pro and looking at the specs they seem very similar to the Bassboss double 18's plus way cheaper

I’m in the market for buying some active front loaded double 18 subs but would like a comparison between the Bassboss and JTR offerings....or if the horn loaded OS is just a better sub in general...any info would be greatly appreciated thanks
Quote 0 0
David Lee

Hi SG,  

I have no first-hand experience with the JTR OS or the new Captivator vented box. All I can do for the moment is point out the observable differences. 

Both the JTR boxes have ceramic magnet drivers whereas all the BASSBOSS subs have Neodymium magnet drivers. The ceramic ferrite magnets are cheaper but they are heavier and on the whole ceramic ferrite tends to yield a lower intensity magnetic field in the gap which can result in a lower efficiency motor. The benefits of Neodymium motors are reduced weight and, generally, increased sensitivity but they are more expensive. 

The JTR boxes use 15mm Baltic Birch whereas the BASSBOSS boxes use 18mm Baltic Birch. The BASSBOSS double-18" cabinets are slightly heavier than the JTR Captivators even though the BASSBOSS have Neodymium magnets, so the additional weight is probably due to thicker panels and more bracing. 

The JTR Captivator 218PRO is apparently supplied with a ICE power 1200AS2 amplifier, which has a power supply rated for 1200 Watts RMS. The amplifier has 2 output channels rated for 1200W each but they both draw from the same power supply, limiting the maximum continuous output to 1200 Watts. This is a good quality amplifier and in fact we are considering using it in our forthcoming compact single 15” subwoofer.